Posted by Data in Cortex Command - May 30th, 2012

UPDATE: We are working on some bugs that reared their ugly heads last minute.. If the release happens today, it’ll be later in the day. Sorry!

UPDATE2: First release candidate for build27 has been committed for testing and porting to the fairer platforms (OSX and linux). Won’t be long now.. if our webserver holds. Remember, if you bought from the Humble Bundle or Humble Store, you can get the new version on the same page as you did before when the new build drops! (please don’t hammer our site)

Enjoy this rough and uncut video of an entire campaign game against an A.I. opponent in Test Build 27, which is coming out on June 1st


You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed.
Both comments and pings are currently closed.


93 Responses to “CC Test Build 27 Preview”

  1. Gundato - # May 30th, 2012 at 6:47 pm

    Any chance of support for Desura (and preferably activation for those who already bought it)?

  2. sajuukdeath - # May 30th, 2012 at 7:15 pm

    this is looking very promising !! hope you improve the lagg/slow motion that would happen from to many unites using jet packs. but great work man ! you spend so many hours on this . your labor of love shows great work.

  3. Tomaster - # May 30th, 2012 at 7:37 pm

    Boom. First comment. Am I cool yet?

  4. Mooseral - # May 30th, 2012 at 8:02 pm

    Will be looking forward to getting my hands on this! Good to see the extensive gameplay changes, in addition to the physics tweaks.

  5. Laughy - # May 30th, 2012 at 9:12 pm

    Looks like you made some solid improvements. I’m not sure how I feel about no friendly fire though, maybe you could make that an on/off option, that would be cool.

    Can’t wait for the first!

  6. Adwuga - # May 30th, 2012 at 9:40 pm

    Will you continue work on cortex command after 1.0? (Aside from bug fixes and lame things like that)

  7. Mindwalker - # May 30th, 2012 at 9:56 pm

    Looks awesome, bro! Cant wait to play it. I think that the way you wanted CC to be is perfect! Thanks for making this awesome game!

  8. TorrentHKU - # May 30th, 2012 at 11:18 pm

    So, what’s new besides the Campaign?

  9. The Sad Truth - # May 31st, 2012 at 12:03 am

    …still no multiplayer yet?

  10. MrC121989 - # May 31st, 2012 at 1:02 am

    This was awesome, cant wait to get my hands on the metagame!

  11. KamiKazeKenji - # May 31st, 2012 at 1:28 am

    Wow. 8 months since the last update, and something finally comes out. I was sure Cortex Command was dead. I’m glad it’s not.

  12. neoseeker - # May 31st, 2012 at 2:48 am

    i’m just glad the waiting is finally over.

    i love you guys

  13. Kynrael - # May 31st, 2012 at 4:49 am

    This looks great ! :D

  14. Gotcha! - # May 31st, 2012 at 5:02 am

    No friendly fire makes me a sad panda. Who voted for this?
    In my opinion CC’s soul has been crushed or at least severely stepped on. ;_;

  15. Kettenkrad - # May 31st, 2012 at 5:57 am

    ASDFGHJKL
    Sweet. Good work, DRLFF devs.

  16. Stophe - # May 31st, 2012 at 6:47 am

    9 monthes since last build :D
    Data, I know CC is your baby, but hey!

  17. Kane - # May 31st, 2012 at 8:51 am

    Nice! keep it up!

  18. Kane - # May 31st, 2012 at 8:54 am

    by the way, its just what i have been waiting for! A.I is The CAMPAIGN! :D :D :D

  19. sabasNL - # May 31st, 2012 at 9:05 am

    Awesome! Can’t wait, really gonna play it alot this weekend.

  20. Pumone - # May 31st, 2012 at 9:26 am

    Battlefield? Call Of Duty? Ghost Recon? No, thank you, I prefer CORTEX COMMAND!

  21. Jysix - # May 31st, 2012 at 10:00 am

    Fuck Yeah

  22. Toxic9813 - # May 31st, 2012 at 11:28 am

    wow! And the MODS that will come from this!!

  23. ARK - # May 31st, 2012 at 11:36 am

    Really interesting video. That brain-bot vs brain-bot mode looks like it would get old quick. Perhaps there could be certain zones where you’d be restricted in what units you could use, or something?

  24. Zeno - # May 31st, 2012 at 12:58 pm

    Looking great guys, just some questions about the meta game:

    Will there be any tactical additions available to be added onto the sites – such as better mining equipment for more money per turn, or tactical computers for better scanning? Maybe weapons stores too? The bases look good but the money just seems to make them bigger, not more useful.

    But either way, I’ll have to wait until tomorrow to give it a proper go so I can’t judge yet.

  25. John - # May 31st, 2012 at 5:16 pm

    This is awesome. AWESOME YOU HEAR ME?
    Thank you!

  26. Blacksheepboy - # May 31st, 2012 at 6:45 pm

    Woohoo, patience

  27. TheStrategyGuy - # May 31st, 2012 at 7:31 pm

    You Sir did a fkin AWESOME Job doing this <3
    =D
    you have earned a sleep XD

  28. happystickman - # May 31st, 2012 at 8:43 pm

    This looks freaking gorgeous. This is the game I have been waiting for since like, build 15. I can barely wait.

  29. Stromko - # May 31st, 2012 at 10:04 pm

    Good to see the skeleton of the game finally coming together. Just needs some AI polish and less glitches to improve the core fun, then all the great modding content will make it a very big game to dig into.

  30. HomerGunther - # June 1st, 2012 at 12:57 am

    Sweeeet. so, upgraded physics is good but does this mean i wont have to worry about characters sticking their head into a wall and then dying anymore?
    oh, and you should set it up so that at the end of a fight over a map all the free guns (like the ones off dead enemies)get auto sold. and maybe give you small amount of exploring? its not like the troops spend all day just waiting around bored (hopefully).

  31. David D. Roberts - # June 1st, 2012 at 1:03 am

    It is now 12:01 AM, June 1st. Where’s my game? D:<

    Hehehe, looking forward to tomorrow.

  32. David D. Roberts - # June 1st, 2012 at 1:11 am

    Also, Pumone, well said.

  33. sajuukdeath - # June 1st, 2012 at 1:36 am

    strange its 12:36 AM so its june 1 and the bundle beta store still shows 26build. i was under the thought that it would take effect at 12 am….

  34. airburst - # June 1st, 2012 at 7:49 am

    Fun stuff; I can’t wait to try it out.

  35. Awwkaw - # June 1st, 2012 at 8:15 am

    i like that you made this, it is awsome, but will you please send it out on the humble bundle?

  36. Awwkaw - # June 1st, 2012 at 8:35 am

    ps: sorry for sounding impatiant, but i really am, because you made this extremly awsome XD

  37. Stophe - # June 1st, 2012 at 8:55 am

    @AWWKAW : you can currently buy it for 9$ until tonight. Sure, that’s not 1$, but hey, nothin’ free…

  38. K3WFE57 - # June 1st, 2012 at 9:34 am

    I can barely wait! I’ll probably be checking this page constantly until it is released. . . =D

  39. haffmaestro - # June 1st, 2012 at 10:44 am

    WHERE IS IT!? I really want to play, also it looks really cool, good job so far!

  40. John - # June 1st, 2012 at 11:21 am

    I’m definitelly going to buy this again at full price!

  41. Teslanaut - # June 1st, 2012 at 12:47 pm

    So when build 27 is released, how do those who got this in the Humble Bundle update? Autoupdate in-game? Or…?

  42. Teslanaut - # June 1st, 2012 at 12:48 pm

    How do those who got this game via Humble Bundle update to the latest build when it is released?

  43. Christopher Haslag - # June 1st, 2012 at 1:17 pm

    THE TIME!? WHAT TIME!? WHAT TIMEZONE!?

  44. Cybernetic - # June 1st, 2012 at 1:20 pm

    Oh yess, lets buy the game and mistype the email address :(
    RIGHT BEFORE THE EPIC RELEASE!!!! Fun times…

  45. V2Blast - # June 1st, 2012 at 1:30 pm

    I second the HIB update request. Or just get it on Steam already so it auto-updates :P

  46. SPANKY - # June 1st, 2012 at 2:17 pm

    Great work guys, seriously. I know you’re all taking a lot of heat for being uncommunicative and making most of us feel like neglected children (some of us ARE neglected children…) but I just want to say that the wait has been well worth it.

    I have personally spent hundreds of hours playing the test builds, replaying the pre-made content, as well as making up my own challenges and battling my way towards my goals until many a sunrise… (hats off to anyone else who has ever harvested 20,000+ ounces in a Nuts! skirmish game) And I’m sure that I speak for everyone in that league when I say that I can’t wait to test my battle-hardened skills against such new limitations as the improved A.I., campaign resource budgeting, and especially tech limits and their brutal cross-tech-purchase exchange rates!

    Gone are the days of being able to build your dream defense force with unlimited buying choices, and I, for one, say good riddance! There is a who world of new challenges on the horizon. Bring it.

  47. Awwkaw - # June 1st, 2012 at 2:40 pm

    sad bro

  48. BadBoy - # June 1st, 2012 at 2:47 pm

    Hell Yeah :)
    i´m waiting, and my girlfriend is nagging me, because i´m looking this video XD
    waaaaah, YEAH =D

  49. FabTheZen - # June 1st, 2012 at 3:11 pm

    Hey guys come on, I’ve been waiting for this for so long, I bought the Humble Bundle version of the game, please make the Bundlers update their links!!! Can’t wait! Thanks :D

  50. Pyrohamster - # June 1st, 2012 at 5:55 pm

    Maaaaan, is 27 out yet? I’m so super stoked for it. Only 6 more hours left in the day.

  51. Balgias - # June 1st, 2012 at 9:53 pm

    Hahaha, posted may 30′th and you go on about a sale that ends on June 1st?! Are you guys in touch with reality at all ? What the hell.

  52. Watching The World Burn - # June 2nd, 2012 at 12:49 am

    My anti virus says there is a black hole virus when ever I go on the main page of the website can you check that out and see why it does that.

  53. Watching The World Burn - # June 2nd, 2012 at 12:50 am

    Also try to get this on steam you will make a lot of money and It would also help you a lot with getting people to play it.

  54. Ezrem - # June 2nd, 2012 at 4:41 am

    Oh dang, noticed this post at June 2nd. No Cortex for me then yet.

  55. Cybernetic - # June 2nd, 2012 at 5:09 am

    Awwkaw,Would be nice if datarealms team can help me before the game is released, but unfortunately I don’t know what the chances are of that happening.

  56. pewpew - # June 2nd, 2012 at 6:03 am

    @CYBERNETIC

    It did say “double check your e-mail” before you confirmed. Anyway it’s sad. But why not buy another one to support data a little more, you would still get it at a small discount ;)

  57. Awwkaw - # June 2nd, 2012 at 8:23 am

    Cybertechnic, sad times bro sad times ;(

  58. Acrio - # June 2nd, 2012 at 8:51 am

    Can’t wait for that :D

  59. TorrentHKU - # June 2nd, 2012 at 9:08 am

    Cybernetic, contact Scancode. http://forums.datarealms.com/viewtopic.php?f=72&t=24892
    He’s the licensing guy, he should be able to help you out. DRL is usually pretty good about licensing stuff if I remember correctly.

  60. Zipperdude - # June 2nd, 2012 at 10:29 am

    Any chance that the build will be released this weekend?

  61. cheezy01 - # June 2nd, 2012 at 10:31 am

    cyber just look at the forums they have a help section and if that doesnt work check ya email incase it was misplaced and if that doesnt work email them the imfo their cool they will help ya.

  62. cheezy01 - # June 2nd, 2012 at 10:31 am

    cyber just look at the forums they have a help section and if that doesnt work check ya email incase it was misplaced and if that doesnt work email them the imfo their cool they will help ya.

  63. Alex - # June 2nd, 2012 at 10:43 am

    CYBERNETIC- you tried emailing them?

  64. atom - # June 2nd, 2012 at 11:25 am

    Hope the Linux build will be released as well. The new additions seems great.

  65. Mooseral - # June 2nd, 2012 at 12:05 pm

    Looks like you might have a bit more time to solve your problem than initially anticipated :P

  66. Cybernetic - # June 2nd, 2012 at 12:07 pm

    Yes,before I posted it on here and I tried twitter, my best guess is that they will discover my request once the dust has settled.

  67. Cybernetic - # June 2nd, 2012 at 12:09 pm

    Yes, but I’m even ok with playing the demo until kingdom comes, the update is just so big that I don’t care anymore, it can come.

  68. Data - # June 2nd, 2012 at 12:54 pm

    cyber, were you not helped yet? what’s the problem?

  69. Cybernetic - # June 2nd, 2012 at 1:39 pm

    I bought Cortex Command but there was a spelling mistake in the email address with one letter incorrect, so I never got the email with the games serial, I do however have the purchase reciept number and I did send an email to contact@datarealms.c​om. What should I do?

  70. Now Approaching Completion, ‘Cortex Command’ Test Build 27 Releases Soon | The Indie Game Magazine - Indie Game Reviews, Previews, News & Downloads - # June 2nd, 2012 at 4:16 pm

    [...] Daniel Tabar has been slowly hacking away at the game, and it’s finally nearing completion. The build currently being compiled and distributed (HIB2 customers should be able to download it soon) is apparently the last major release before the [...]

  71. MaximDude - # June 2nd, 2012 at 4:34 pm

    It’s 1:33 AM June 2nd (GMT+2), is it just me or the build wasn’t published yet?

  72. Humblebundlecustomer - # June 2nd, 2012 at 4:53 pm

    3rd of June, still not published?

  73. John - # June 2nd, 2012 at 4:59 pm

    http://www.quickmeme.com/meme/3pjzyf/
    (posted by Natti on the forums)

  74. Asklar - # June 2nd, 2012 at 5:18 pm

    Not released yet, but if we’ve waited years, we can wait one more day.

  75. slimeman - # June 2nd, 2012 at 5:29 pm

    yo datarealms! i bought cortex command build 26 a week or 2 ago and i got the email with the link to download it. my question : do i use the same link to download build 27 when it come out or de we get a new link? thanks

  76. Treelor - # June 2nd, 2012 at 6:03 pm

    Data you have given me the largest erection.

  77. The_Blog - # June 2nd, 2012 at 7:01 pm

    Mhh not released yet on Humble Bundle. Looking forward to this :D

  78. James - # June 2nd, 2012 at 8:23 pm

    Please! Please! Post an update for the Linux version on HiB. I still have a non-working Test Build 25.

  79. AKoverlord - # June 2nd, 2012 at 8:27 pm

    at 11:15 you can see though those doors, but at 12:19 you cant, will that double door ever feature the lack of transparency?

  80. Now Approaching Completion, ‘Cortex Command’ Test Build 27 Releases Soon | DIYGamer - # June 2nd, 2012 at 11:15 pm

    [...] Daniel Tabar has been slowly hacking away at the game, and it’s finally nearing completion. The build currently being compiled and distributed (HIB2 customers should be able to download it soon) is apparently the last major release before the [...]

  81. Data - # June 3rd, 2012 at 12:52 am

    The doors might be tricky to fix the seeing through of.. we’ll investigate it.

    Cyber, i don’t see any emails from ya, give me an address i can send you something

  82. JuggernautOfWar - # June 3rd, 2012 at 12:53 am

    AKoverlord that’s interesting. I’d like to see this fixed by 1.0. I’m sure the developers are already aware of that though.

  83. Cybernetic - # June 3rd, 2012 at 1:53 am

    Thanks, Data I got it. The impossible was possible, I get to have the game before its released. Thanks again.

  84. Data - # June 3rd, 2012 at 2:11 am

    well what you have now is build 26.. you’ll ahve 27 when everyone else gets access to it too. Which seems like sunday for sure at this point

  85. Cybernetic - # June 3rd, 2012 at 2:33 am

    Haha strange that you say that, I live in South Africa so its currently 10:30am, sunday, but we have all been waiting within the same time spand and frankly I’m loving it now, super chilled and with you having waited longer than any of us.

  86. Van - # June 3rd, 2012 at 3:21 am

    I look forward for Linux build fixes! With love, CC fan <3

  87. Trystanr - # June 3rd, 2012 at 6:44 am

    Same Cybernetic. Lost my original email, waiting on humble bundle #3 to update.

  88. IkeaSwede - # June 3rd, 2012 at 8:47 am

    I got my copy from the bundle, but it’s b24? how do i upgrade?

  89. Cybernetic - # June 3rd, 2012 at 10:34 am

    Just checking the time

  90. Captain_Kicktar - # June 5th, 2012 at 12:40 pm

    Well, the seam glitch seems more rampent than ever, as you noticed in the preview video, but as long as you learn where it is it’s mostly fine. And also, do you think putting this on Steam would be possible? Fine if not, but would be cool.

  91. Norgonq - # June 7th, 2012 at 9:08 am

    Fantastic game, I’m glad you haven’t given up on it!
    Experienced blowing up out of nowhere while walking over an open field. Have to say, it adds a bit of tension.

  92. Riker - # June 15th, 2012 at 4:33 am

    .. ronin tech? I am positive you are using brown coat tech…

  93. Gordion - # August 16th, 2012 at 1:54 am

    Where do i download this if I have already purchased the game previous to this update?