Posted by Data in Cortex Command - September 23rd, 2012


Previewing the 1.0 that is coming out on Steam this month! Everyone who has previously bought the game will get a Steam key, don’t worry :)

Sorry for the length; I apparently had fun playing this, so time kindof flew. Apologies also for the low voice audio.. will do better job mixing it next time ~


Note: Remember to set the 720p quality using the lil cogwheel icon right above HERE

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed.
Both comments and pings are currently closed.


50 Responses to “Cortex Command 1.0 playtest preview”

  1. Fylth - # September 23rd, 2012 at 7:38 pm

    Haven’t had a chance to watch the video yet (slow interwebs here), but I’m glad to hear we get Steam keys if we already purchased (expected of course, but still nice to hear)

  2. THKU - # September 23rd, 2012 at 8:12 pm

    Brace yourselves.
    Newbies are coming.

  3. Roast - # September 23rd, 2012 at 8:40 pm

    Cactus: true master of Cortex Command.

    Learn from him, guys.

  4. Vytauti - # September 23rd, 2012 at 8:50 pm

    I missed the orbital bombardment option, when attacking site. Wasnt it included for 1.0 ‘to-do’ list?

  5. Mooseral - # September 23rd, 2012 at 9:17 pm

    By “this month” do you mean September, as in within a week? Or more like “within a month”?

    Either way, this is pretty boss!

  6. Mooseral - # September 23rd, 2012 at 9:59 pm

    Ah, answered it around minute 25 in the video: within a week. Definitely boss.

  7. Jack - # September 24th, 2012 at 12:59 am

    OMG YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!! THANK YOU DAN

  8. airburst - # September 24th, 2012 at 4:03 am

    Worth the wait!
    Thanks Data for this awesome game, it has come together beautifully!

  9. JuanPi - # September 24th, 2012 at 9:18 am

    Hi,
    Looking forward!

    Will this be also available for Linux via the Humble Bundles?

  10. SamJ - # September 24th, 2012 at 11:55 am

    I have to say, the game is a success in my opinion.
    I have had a blast playing the campaign and would lose hours on to it, just because it works so well. Good job Data! :D

  11. Anon - # September 24th, 2012 at 1:35 pm

    Just one question – will you be finally serious about your Linux support? Not to mention the low quality of the port, you have not released anything for Linux since build 25.

  12. Spider - # September 24th, 2012 at 3:14 pm

    Hopefully v 1.0 will fix the thing where fraps doesn’t recognized cc as a game.

  13. Kitanode - # September 24th, 2012 at 3:58 pm

    can’t wait till the end of the month.

    i think i’ll be playing this for a long time to come and the multiplayer options are superb.

  14. Ezonart - # September 24th, 2012 at 5:06 pm

    Will HIB buyers get STEAM keys too? I didn’t purchase this from the website, I got it from HIB 3.

  15. SeRapH - # September 24th, 2012 at 5:13 pm

    I hope you fixed the full-screen issue, and we can play it in full screen again.

  16. CC4E - # September 24th, 2012 at 5:42 pm

    Wow :)

  17. Cortex Command 1.0 | Indius - # September 24th, 2012 at 5:56 pm

    [...] Source : Data Realms Dev Log [...]

  18. Peter - # September 24th, 2012 at 7:07 pm

    Was really worth the wait! Thank you for finishing this and now I actually know what the Champaign mode is all about. :D

  19. rochyroch - # September 24th, 2012 at 7:15 pm

    i f**king love this game!
    i’ve been waiting for a game like this since i was 7
    i’m 35 btw, lol

  20. AKoverlord - # September 24th, 2012 at 8:48 pm

    kinda unrelated, but will the other factions get as much weapons as the coalies and ronin?
    the other factions have one weapon per roll, and the coalies/ronin have a bunch of weapons they can use to fit the same roll.

  21. Valdrrak - # September 25th, 2012 at 12:02 am

    Is there any improvements about the stability of the game? like how if you are running many mods and you are having a big battle the game slows down tremendously and nearly to a point of becoming unplayable. The campaign looks awesome by the way

  22. Anonymous_Coward - # September 25th, 2012 at 8:01 am

    I hope there will be a real Linux build this time.
    I really enjoy the game, but the lack of a decent build for the system I use on a daily basis is becoming really annoying, especially since the site still claims it to be a multi-platform game available on Linux.

  23. Vytauti - # September 25th, 2012 at 11:18 am

    Wil CC be available on Mac App Store by the way (just curious)?

  24. Chris v - # September 25th, 2012 at 6:29 pm

    I don’t see CC working for the iPhone or iPad in my opinion, though that would be cool.

    I was really hoping to see bomb crabs for the ronin.
    Still so hyped. TECHIONS ASSEMBLE!

  25. tybama56 - # September 25th, 2012 at 10:48 pm

    Will people that bought the game with the Humble Bundle get a steam key?

  26. Arne - # September 26th, 2012 at 12:06 am

    Anonymous_Coward is totally right. If you advertise to be multiplatform you have to pay your depth and support that platform. I tried the Linux Build today and nearly died because of the jetpack sound. You can do that better.

  27. Data - # September 26th, 2012 at 10:48 am

    linux build is being worked on! wow so bossy

  28. Anon - # September 26th, 2012 at 4:18 pm

    Not bossy, but you shouldn’t be surprised that people doubt it. There has been nothing since b25, the quality is sub-par (it ran better in Wine) and generally a 2nd class citizen. But hopefully this ends and now there will be quality support from now on.

  29. Zaphan - # September 27th, 2012 at 2:45 am

    Thank you DATA your fuckin awesome man.
    Just a few ideas for future updates i want to through out there.
    -New maps that are on the moon(like that moon base we see in the opening scenes.
    -New factions that can be unlocked by playing the campaign mode.(maybe a few more native creatures)
    -Some sort of tank or hover drone would be nice(like the ones in that ACO mod)

    Im a BIG BIG fan of base assaulting and base defending and i would love to play more of these maps that are already prebuilt because its a pain in the ass to have to build them just for a skirmish defense. It takes to long to build advanced bases that i’ll only use maybe once and im usually bad at it.

  30. GOD - # September 27th, 2012 at 9:14 am

    Wow! Can’t wait for 1.0!!

    Playing under Wine and Win7. I hope the 1.0 linux build is ready soon.

  31. Valdrrak - # September 27th, 2012 at 12:45 pm

    Stability

  32. SirPrimalform - # September 27th, 2012 at 2:05 pm

    Uhhh… great news that you managed to get it on Steam, and great news about the Steam key for those who like Steam. I personally dislike, is it going to be possible to get the final version DRM-free?

    I guess you might not have said anything because you felt it went without saying, but after the crap the Kinetic Void guys tried to pull recently I’m a bit paranoid.

  33. Data - # September 27th, 2012 at 3:16 pm

    CC will remain DRM-free

  34. Bombzero - # September 27th, 2012 at 8:50 pm

    Yup, contrary to all too popular belief Steam does not force any form of DRM on developers who use their platform.

  35. Yarow - # September 28th, 2012 at 12:01 am

    Cortex Command on Steam: *check*
    Cortex Command 1vs1 multiplayer: *in progress*
    >_>

    Seriously though, if you’re gonna do multiplayer keep it simple and highly functional.

  36. SirPrimalform - # September 28th, 2012 at 2:04 am

    @Bombzero: I don’t mean “DRM-free on Steam”, I mean proper DRM-free. I know Valve don’t force the DRM, but the installation method requiring the client is DRM. A DRM-free game can be installed from a backup without an internet connection, à la GOG or the Humble Bundles/Store.

    I know you mean well, but I’m rather tired of people telling me that Steam doesn’t force any DRM.

    Desura is a good example of a client based DD that also offers the ‘DRM-free’ games properly DRM-free (i.e. downloadable installers).

    I guess my question should have been: Will it be available with nothing to do with Steam?

  37. Matt - # September 28th, 2012 at 3:54 am

    I got the game using the Trial Pay option you once had a long time ago. Will I still be able to get the full version?

  38. Data - # September 28th, 2012 at 8:18 am

    Yep:
    http://licensing.datarealms.com/licensing/

    reset your pw if you need to

  39. Data - # September 28th, 2012 at 8:39 am

    there is highly functional local multiplayer?? not sure if i understand you

  40. Data - # September 28th, 2012 at 8:40 am

    The version bought directly from our website here will remain completely and utterly DRM free, FOREVAH

  41. Cody - # September 28th, 2012 at 1:28 pm

    Oh look, the steam key option is available @ licensing
    <3

  42. SirPrimalform - # September 28th, 2012 at 3:17 pm

    That’s great news, thanks DATA!

  43. MrMaigo - # September 28th, 2012 at 5:35 pm

    Wake up.
    Look at Steam.
    CORTEX COMMAND!

  44. SgtPepper - # September 28th, 2012 at 5:44 pm

    No Steam key for Humble Bundle purchases? :’(

  45. Octopus Erectus - # September 28th, 2012 at 5:45 pm

    Do Humble Bundle owners get a steam key?

  46. Data - # September 28th, 2012 at 5:45 pm

    will be on your humble bundle download page before the end of the day

  47. SgtPepper - # September 28th, 2012 at 6:05 pm

    Great news. Thanks!

  48. Gulasz - # September 28th, 2012 at 6:33 pm

    If i got Humble Indie Bundle 2 – Retail in my steam account details and lost my email… is there any way to receive it or is it lost : /

  49. Guest - # September 29th, 2012 at 9:50 am

    @Gulasz: If you just lost the link to the page, you can request a new link, there’s a button for that at the bottom of the humble bundle. If you lost the email acoount but still have the invoice or transaction record somewhere, you can contact them and they’ll probably sort it out somehow. If you have access to neither, you’re probably out of luck.

  50. Mark of The Ninja y Cortex Command llegarán a Steam | ProWolf.cL - # April 24th, 2013 at 12:04 am

    [...] Cortex Command es un juego del cual no mucha gente recuerda, probablemente porque, literalmente, lleva casi once años en desarrollo, pero el cual muchos de ustedes ya deben tener, pues fue parte de uno de los primeros Humble Indie Bundles. Todos aquellos que lo compraron en ese entonces podrán poseer este juego en Steam cuando sea lanzado durante esta semana. [...]